6/30/2012 7:47:00 PM by Garrett Law Group, PLC
Beginning Sunday, July 1, individuals convicted of a first-offense driving under the influence (DUI) will now be required to install an ignition interlock on their personal vehicles. The ignition interlock requirement is a condition of having a restricted license and must be installed for six months. The new ignition interlock requirement will cost about $480 over the course of the six months. This fee is in addition to the mandatory minimum court fine of $250, court costs of about $200, and the mandatory fee of $300 to attend a Virginia Alcohol Safety Action Program (ASAP) counseling class.
In addition to those mandatory fees imposed by the Court, anyone convicted of DUI will certainly suffer from increased insurance premiums, either loss of or restricted driver’s license, and a possible jail sentence (mandatory is some cases). For second or subsequent DUI offenses or those cases involving very high blood alcohol content (BAC) results, these penalties are even more severe, including mandatory jail time of up to six months, and complete loss of driving privileges for as much as three years.
If you or someone you know has been charged with DUI in Virginia Beach, consulting with a Virginia Beach DUI attorney should be a top priority. Please contact us today for a free consultation. (757) 422-4646. You can speak with an attorney 24/7/365 about your situation and have your questions answered.
Garrett Law Group, PLC